Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

J.B. Cain Archives of Mississippi Methodism: Finding Aids

Finding Aids

Indexes

Index to New Orleans Christian Advocate 1850-1946. Compiled by Rev. J. B. Cain, in two typescript volumes, consisting of proper names which appear in this newspaper.

Index to Mississippi Methodist Advocate, 1947-1979. Compiled by Dr. Rush G. Miller, in one typescript volume with loose leaf supplement, consisting of proper names which appear in this newspaper.

 

J. B. Cain Archives Inventory

Card index Lists

Mississippi Conference Appointments 1799-1997, by W. L. Jenkins

Mississippi Conference Appointments 1831-1900, typescript

North Mississippi Conference Appointments, 1819-1870, typescript

Mississippi Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church Appointments, 1870-1939, typescript

Memoirs and Obituaries of clergy and clergy spouses, Mississippi Conference and antecedent conferences 1832-2007

Ministerial Records List (data sheets, pension records, Linsey card file) 1799-1993

Local Preachers List 1858-1950

Annual Conference Journals and Newspapers

Mississippi Conference (and antecedents) Annual Journals

  • Mississippi Conference, Journal, 1845-1988.
  • North Mississippi Conference, Journal, 1871-1988.
  • Upper Mississippi Conference, Journal, 1891-1972.
  • Mississippi Conference, former Central Jurisdiction, Journal, 1865-1972.
  • Mississippi Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church, Journal, 1871-1938, 1944.
  • North Mississippi Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church, Journal, 1867-1930
  • New Orleans Christian Advocate, 1850-1946; index.
  • Mississippi United Methodist Advocate, 1947- , Index: 1947-1981.

 

Histories and Bibliographies

Mississippi Conference (and antecedents) Histories

  • The information for the basic histories of Methodism in Mississippi has come from the annual Journal of the Mississippi Conference and its antecedents and from correspondence and diaries of prominent Methodist ministers. Most of these are indexed.
  • A Complete history of Methodism as connected with the Mississippi Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1799-1845) / by John G. Jones. 1887.
  • A Complete History of Methodism as Connected with the Mississippi Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1846-1869) / by John G. Jones. 2015. 
  • Methodism in the Mississippi Conference, 1846-1870 / by John B. Cain. 1939.
  • Methodism in the Mississippi Conference, 1870-1884 / by W.B. Jones. 1951.
  • Methodism in the Mississippi Conference, 1884-1919 / by J. Allen Lindsey. 1964.
  • Methodism in the Mississippi Conference, 1920-1939 / by J. Allen Lindsey. 1980.
  • A History of North Mississippi Methodism, 1820-1900 / by Gene Ramsey Miller. 1966.
  • Our heritage, historical highlights of United Methodism in North Mississippi/compiled by the North Mississippi Commission on Archives and History. 1986.
  • The Mississippi Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church, 1829-1939 / by William Lee Hamrick. 1957.
  • Mississippi circuit riders, 1865-1965 (Upper Mississippi Conference) / by John Graham. 1969.

Memoirs and Obituaries of Ministers

Memoirs in Annual Conference Journals

Memoirs are obituaries published in the Annual Conference Journals the year following the death of a clergy member of Conference or his/her spouse. Memoirs are written by a fellow minister or family member and contain information concerning the minister's service to the denomination, church appointments, and some family information.

If no Memoir is published, it is possible the minister transferred out of the Mississippi Conference or its antecedent prior to his death. If he was not a member of the annual conference, but served as a Local Preacher, no memoir is published in the Journal, although an obituary may have been submitted to the Methodist Advocate.

Mississippi Conference MEC, MC, FCJ memoirs 1873-1972

Mississippi Conference Memoirs 1832-2007

Mississippi Conference Methodist Protestant Church 1871-1938

North Mississippi Conference Methodist Protestant Church 1867-1930

North Mississippi Conference Memoirs 1870-1988

Upper Mississippi Conference Memoirs 1892-1970

United Methodist Women

Box 1: 1978-81
        UMW- 1973-78
  Women's Society of Christian Service- 1968-73
  UMW Histories
  Special Readings, 1893-1966
 
Box 2: 1978-81
  UMW minutes, 1937-78
  Women's Society of Christian Service, 1968-73
  Wesleyan Service Guild, 1969-70
  UMW Directories, 1978-81
  Policies, minutes
 
Box 3: 1978-81
  Annual meeting programs
  Community centers
  District reports
  Goals
  Officers' reports
  Financial reports
  Conference special programs
  Miscellaneous
  Newsletters
 
Box 4: 1990's
  Various newsletters, 1998-2000
  Candle Burning Celebration- history, program
  District Officers
  District / Committee reports
  Minutes, 1990-98
 
Box 5
  UMW memorabilia
  Women's Society of Christian Service, 1940-68
  Woman's Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 1888-1939
 
Box 6
  Annual Conference Meetings, 1994-2000
  MS Conference Directory: 1990-97, 1999-2000
 
Box 7
  School of Christian Mission, 1994, 1996-2000
  Reports submitted for mission studies, 1998-99
 
Box 8
  1997 Picture Album
  2 video tapes
  UMW Annual Meeting- Crossgates UMC, Brandon, East Jackson District;
  running time: 1:50; Videographer- Susan Weatherholt; 11/7/92
  Vicksburg / Jackson
 
Box 9
  2 video tapes
  Senatobia District
  Meridian District UMW
  Local officers training- 1/30/93; Meridian district at Decatur
  District retreat- 4/17/93
  District Exec. Committees meeting at Quitman UMC, 1993 (includes detailed list of contents taped and speakers)
  Miscellaneous UMW papers
 
Box 10 (oversized)
  Original layout papers for Winnie Phillips's book Rural Electrification in MS, 1934-1970
 
Box 11 (oversized)
  Original layout papers for Winnie Phillips's book Methodist Women: A History
 
Box 12: Woman's Society of Christian Service, 1961-68
  Town and Country work
  Correspondence
 
Box 13: Woman's Society of Christian Service, 1961-68
  Town and Country Work
  Correspondence
 
Box 14: Woman's Society of Christian Service, 1961-68
  Indian Mission Project
  Record books, 1956-60; 1960-64
  Evaluation Report of the Local Secretary of Membership Cultivation, 1963-67
 
Box 15: Woman's Society of Christian Service
  Annual Conference Materials, minutes, Records of the Recording Secretary, correspondence 1955-68
  Arlean Hall, 1962-67
  Scholarship Fund, 1967
 
Box 16: Woman's Society of Christian Service
  Engraving dies/stamps for various programs, symbols, and individuals- no dates given c. 1950's?
 
Box 17: Woman's Society of Christian Service
  Engraving dies/stamps for various programs, symbols, and individuals- no dates given c. 1950's?
 
Box 18: WSCS records and correspondence, 1965-71 (?)
  Meridian district (?)
 
Box 19:
  The Missionary Voice, 1913-21
  The Young Christian Worker, 1918
  The Council Bulletin, 1928-31, 1935, 1937-38
 
Books in collection:
  Woman's Missionary Conference, 1902-69
  UMW directories, 1968-78
  Woman's Society of Christian Service, 1968-73
  Charter certificates- Woman's Society of Christian Service, 1940
  Programs, Annual Meetings- WSCS, 1940-68
  Annual Reports of the Woman's Missionary Society, 1927-30
  20th Annual Report of WSCS- 1960
  1978 directory- UMW
  Toward Understanding the Bible- Wesleyan Service Guild, 1953
  Our Golden Jubilee- Women's Missionary Society- 1878-1928
  WSCS- Record and Report Books, 1945-50
  WSCS scrapbooks: 1940-50; 1968-72
  UMW scrapbooks: 1972-78; 1981-88

The New Orleans Christian Advocate

We hold bound paper volumes of the New Orleans Christian Advocate, 1850-1946. This Methodist newspaper covered Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama at the time of its publication.

The New Orleans Christian Advocate

  • Full text provided in Internet Archive by Centenary College Archivist Chris Brown. 
  • Searching instructions 

The New Orleans Christian Advocate Indexes created by Dr. J.B. Cain

Newspapers and Newsletters

 

Mississippi Methodist Advocate Archives

Find issues of the Mississippi Methodist Advocate 1947-2009.

 

The Circuit Rider Archives

Find issues of The Circuit Rider 2013-2018.

Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | librarian@millsaps.edu