Women's & Gender Studies: Online Resources

From Bryn Mawr College, includes primary sources and online exhibits.

A gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States.

Photographs of the Women's Movement by Bettye Lane and Freda Leinwand. Online Digital Exhibit

Digitized photographs, oral histories adn archival materials from the Chicana feminist movement. Also includes timelines.

Digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings relating to trans history throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than thirty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections.

A collection of materials related to the study of women and gender in the ancient world, including bibliographies, images, and some full-text.

From Middle Tennessee State University, Walker Library

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Hosted by the University of Iowa Libraries

Part of the Documenting the American South Collection at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.

Some digital collections including over 100 travel diaries of American and British women as well as items from the Women's Liberation Movement.

The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.

From Smith College Libraries. A handful of publicly accessible digital collections from a variety of sources and time periods.

Studies in Scarlet presents the images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's extensive trial collections. Studies in Scarlet includes American, British, and Irish cases 1815-1914 involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, and the custody of children, as well as trials for murder and rape. These trials are especially rich sources for the study of the history of women in early modern society.

Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.

From Harvard University. Documents the lives of women in Qajar Iran (1796-1925).

The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project (WVHP), established at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) in 1998, documents the contributions of women in the military and related service organizations since World War I.

From Harvard University Library Open Collections Program. Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection. Includes a variety of items: books, pamphlets, diaries, memoirs, photographs and more.