LibGuides: Connections--Eudora Welty's Jackson (FYCS): Home

Selected Library Resources

Eudora Welty: A Biography by Suzanne Marrs

Call Number: Welty PS3545.E6 Z766 2005

Eudora Welty by Harold Bloom

Call Number: Welty PS3545.E6 Z58 2004

Eudora Welty: Critical Essays Edited by Peggy Prenshaw

Call Number: Welty PS3545.E6 Z77

Remembering Medgar Evers by Minrose Gwin

Call Number: F349 .J13 G85 2013

The Civil Rights Movement in Mississippi Edited by Ted Ownby

Call Number: E185.9 .M6 C58 2013

One Writer's Imagination by Suzanne Marrs

Call Number: Welty PS3545.E6 Z767 2002

The library website is a great place to start looking for resources for your class.

https://millsaps.edu/academics/millsaps-wilson-library/online-library-search/

Big Search uses keywords to find books, articles, DVDs and more.

Want to know more? Below is a guide for formulating keywords and finding resources using Big Search

Choosing Keywords

The Millsaps-Wilson Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to organize physical materials. For more information on call numbers visit the Library of Congress website.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

The majority of books by and about Eudora Welty are located in the Eudora Welty Room on the third floor of the west wing of the library.

Other books related to Eudora Welty and literature in general can be found in the following sections:

PN1-6790 Literature (General)
PS1-3626 American literature

Books about United States History are generally located in sections E-F, but you will find books throughout our collection.

E 175 - 175.7 United States History Historiography
F 336-350 Mississippi History

Location of Materials

Classifications A--D399 East Stacks 1

Classifications D400--F East Stacks 2

Classifications G--HR East Stacks 3

Classifications HS--K East 3

Classifications L--Z West 3

Databases are a good place to start when looking for scholarly journals and articles.

Multidisciplinary Databases

English Subject Databases

Primary sources are contemporary accounts of an event, written by someone who experienced or witnessed the event in question. These original documents (i.e., they are not about another document or account) are often diaries, letters, memoirs, journals, speeches, manuscripts, interviews and other such unpublished works. They may also include published pieces such as newspaper or magazine articles (as long as they are written soon after the fact and not as historical accounts), photographs, audio or video recordings, research reports in the natural or social sciences, or original literary or theatrical works.

Primary: First-hand account of an event, an original work

Autobiographies, letters, e-mails, diaries, speeches, interviews
Documents, laws, treaties
Raw data that has been collected
Works of literature, art, music
Newspaper accounts of events, by someone on the scene

Secondary: A summary, interpretation, or analysis of something else

Articles, books, biographies which summarize, interpret the original statements, documents
Textbooks
Analysis of statistics
Criticism — of literature, art, music
Secondary accounts of events by those who compile and synthesize the original accounts

Tertiary: Usually a combination or collection of primary and secondary sources

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Indexes
Handbooks, guidebooks, manuals

The Eudora Welty Collection at MDAH
From the MDAH website "The Eudora Welty Collection is managed, housed, and made available for research by the Archives and Records Services Division within the Mississippi Department of Archives and History and is located at the William F. Winter Archives and History Building.
It is the most extensive collection of Eudora Welty materials in the world and one of the most varied literary collections in the United States. The Collection, with materials dating from 1882 to 2001, spans Welty's entire life and includes earlier photographs of her parents and grandparents. It includes manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, negatives, drawings, film and video footage, essays, reviews, ephemera, awards and honors."
The Eudora Welty Foundation
Eudora Welty Foundation, Life and Works. Includes biographical information, and extensive bibliography, digital images of some of her art and photography, a timeline, as well as photography of friends and family.
Freedom Summer Papers of Thomas Foner, Mississippi Department of Archives and History
The collection consists of correspondence, a voter registration plan, photographs, and newsclippings from Thomas Foner's work as a volunteer with the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project in 1964. The collection documents his work with the project and contains substantial information about the conditions faced by volunteers during the summer (from the finding aid).
Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH)
Website for MDAH. Includes multiple digital collections, an online catalog for the archives and manuscript collection, as well as ongoing news and events.
Sovereignty Commission Online, Mississippi Department of Archives and History
The Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission was the state's official counter civil rights agency from 1956–1973. The files in this online collection comprise the scanned originals with court-approved redactions requested by individuals named in the records along with additional information submitted by individuals named in the records who chose to file a rebuttal. The collection also includes the court-specified personal name index and links between rebuttal records and Commission records in which rebuttal submitters are mentioned. The files may be searched by personal name, folder title and number, or rebuttal respondent (from the website).
Tougaloo College, Mississippi Civil Rights Collection
The Tougaloo College Digital Collection contains a selection of items documenting civil rights in Mississippi from the archives at the Tougaloo College Library.

Connections--Eudora Welty's Jackson (FYCS): Home

Selected Library Resources

Library Map