Skip to Main Content

Music: Home

Finding Resources

The library website is a great place to start looking for resources for your class.  

https://millsaps.edu/academics/millsaps-wilson-library/online-library-search/

Big Search uses keywords to find books, articles, DVDs and more. 

Want to know more?  Below is a guide for formulating keywords and finding resources using Big Search

Databases E-Books & E-Journals
Encyclopaedia Britannica

Browse Music Journals (available via Millsaps-Wilson Library)
JSTOR Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd Edition

NAXOS Music Library

 Grove Book of Opera Singers
Project MUSE

The Oxford Companion to the American Musical
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
   

 

American Popular Songs, New York Public Library Global Music Archive MUSAIC

Beethoven-Haus Bonn Digital Archives

 IMSLP, Petrucci Music Library National Jukebox
CHARM IN Harmony: Sheet Music OperaVision

The Classical Music Navigator

 Internet Archive, Audio Archive Pianogroove Blues Piano Lessons
ChoralWiki Musictheory Exercises YouTube

Digital Collections, Library of Congress

 Open Music Theory  

 

Browse Library Books by Subject 

Music books are located in the M call number range on the third floor, west wing.

  • M1.A5-2.3 Music collections 
  • M5-1490 Instrumental music 
  • M1495-5000 Vocal music 
  • ML1-3930 Literature on music 
  • ML159-3775 Music history and criticism 
  • ML459-1380 Instrumental music
  • ML3800-3923 Philosophy of music 
  • MT1-960 Musical instruction and study   

Library

Print Titles Available in the Library

Worship Across the Racial Divide

Call Number: ML3921 .M37 2012

Book Cover Image

Women, Music, Culture

Call Number: ML82 .D86 2016

Book Cover Image

A New English Music

Call Number: ML390 .R206 2016

The Origins of Music

Call Number: ML3800 .S892 2012

Kinks

Call Number: ML421 .K56 F54 2017

Book Cover Image

Music in Our Lives

Call Number: ML83 .M27 2012

Africa in Stereo

Call Number: PL8010 .J335 2014

The Emotional Power of Music

Call Number: ML3830 .E48 2013

Future Days

Call Number: ML275.5 .S88 2015

The Psychology of Music in Multimedia

Call Number: ML3830 .P793 2013

To Do This, You Must Know How

Call Number: ML3556 .A23 2013

The Southern Journey of Alan Lomax, Audiobook

Call Number: Audiovisual ML87 .L66 2013

Mississippi Fiddle Tunes and Songs from The 1930s

Call Number: M1629.7 .M6 B65 2015

The Sounds of Capitalism

Call Number: ML3790 .T395 2012

Book Cover Image

Shake It Up

Call Number: ML3534 .S458 2017

Dylan Goes Electric!

Call Number: ML420 .D98 W34 2015

Book Cover Image

Reinventing Dixie

Call Number: ML3477 .J67 2015

Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | librarian@millsaps.edu