LibGuides: Greek and Roman Studies: Home

Finding Resources

The library website is a great place to start looking for resources for your class.

https://millsaps.edu/academics/millsaps-wilson-library/online-library-search/

Big Search uses keywords to find books, articles, DVDs and more.

Dictionaries ►	Oxford Classical Dictionary	Logeion
Encyclopedias ►	Encyclopaedia Britannica	Encyclopedia of Rhetoric	Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
	Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection	Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologicae Classicae (LIMC)	The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Try These ►	Aesopica: Aesop's Fables in English, Latin & Greek	APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System	ASGLE Reference Tools
	Bryn Mawr Classical Review	Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum: Latin Texts Online	Didaskalia: The Journal for Ancient Performance
	Digitized Greek Manuscripts	Gnomon Online: the Eichstatt information system for classical studies	Google Scholar
	Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies	LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World	Perseus Digital Library

Bibliographies & Indexes

Classical Studies Journals

Multidisciplinary Databases

Style guides available in the library

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Reference Z 253 .U69 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
EasyWriter with Exercises, 2020 APA Update by Andrea A. Lunsford
Call Number: Reserves PE1408 .L852 2020
ISBN: 9781319361457
Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Seventh edition, (2020)
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian et al.
Call Number: Reference LB2369 .T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-22
Ninth Edition (2021), available in Ready Reference
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Ready Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019

Online style guides

Browse Library Books by Subject

Greek and Roman Studies books are often in the P section in the west wing of the top floor, but books can be found throughout the library. See the list below for some of the call numbers and subjects that are related to classical studies.

PN611-649 Ancient Literature
N5610-5899 Classical Art and Antiques
PA Classical Languages
PA3000-3049 Classical Literature
PA3050-4505 Greek Literature
PA6000-6971 Roman Literature
PA2001-2915 Latin Language
PA201-899 Greek Language
PA1-199 Classical Philology
NA270-349 Classical Architecture
N5603-5865 Classical Art
BL700-820 Classical Mythology
HQ1127-1136 Women History to 500
D51-90 Ancient History
DE Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
U Military Science

Library

Millsaps-Wilson Library

Email Me

Contact:

601-974-1070

Artifacts & Images	Maps	Literary Texts
Ancient Graffiti Project	Ancient World Mapping Center	Britannica Original Sources
ARTstor on JSTOR	Digital Atlas of Rome and Medieval Civilizations	Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum
Classical Art Research Centre--Beazley Archive	Digital Maps of the Ancient World: Roma	Digital Loeb Classical Library
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World		Perseus Digital Library
		Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
		Thesaurus Linguae Latinae

Greek and Roman Studies: Home

Finding Resources

Online style guides

Library

Selected Print Titles

Greek Art and Archaeology C. 1200-30 BC

Latin

Interpreting the Images of Greek Myths

A Companion to Greek and Roman Sexualities

The Cambridge History of Painting in the Classical World

Studying Gender in Classical Antiquity

The Oxford Handbook of Warfare in the Classical World

The Rise and Fall of Classical Greece