Connections--Drugs, Druggies, and Druggists (FYCS): Home

The Millsaps-Wilson Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to organize physical materials.  For more information on call numbers visit the Library of Congress website.

The majority of books about drugs and the history of drugs can be found in the following sections:

• HV5001-5720.5     Alcoholism. Intemperance. Temperance reform.
• HV5725-5770         Tobacco habit. 
• HV5800-5840        Drug habits. Drug abuse. 
• R5-920                     Medicine (General) 
• RC31-1245               Internal medicine 
• RM1-950                  Therapeutics. Pharmacology 

Books about United States History are generally located in sections E-F, but you will find books throughout our collection.

• E 175 - 175.7           United States History Historiography 
• F 336-350               Mississippi History

Location of Materials

Databases are a good place to start when looking for scholarly journals and articles.

Reference Databases 

Multidisciplinary Databases 

History & Sociology Databases 

Science and Chemistry Databases 

Primary sources are contemporary accounts of an event, written by someone who experienced or witnessed the event in question. These original documents (i.e., they are not about another document or account) are often diaries, letters, memoirs, journals, speeches, manuscripts, interviews and other such unpublished works. They may also include published pieces such as newspaper or magazine articles (as long as they are written soon after the fact and not as historical accounts), photographs, audio or video recordings, research reports in the natural or social sciences, or original literary or theatrical works.

Primary:  First-hand account of an event, an original work

• Autobiographies, letters, e-mails, diaries, speeches, interviews
• Documents, laws, treaties
• Raw data that has been collected
• Works of literature, art, music
• Newspaper accounts of events, by someone on the scene

Secondary: A summary, interpretation, or analysis of something else

• Articles, books, biographies which summarize, interpret the original statements, documents
• Textbooks
• Analysis of statistics
• Criticism — of literature, art, music
• Secondary accounts of events by those who compile and synthesize the original accounts

Tertiary: Usually a combination or collection of primary and secondary sources

• Encyclopedias
• Dictionaries
• Indexes
• Handbooks, guidebooks, manuals

Multi-Topic Resources 

Tobacco & Smoking

Prohibition, Alcohol, and Temperance 

Marijuana and Cannabis 

Opioids 

Mississippi Specific 

Historical Newspapers