Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Congress Call Numbers : Introduction

Finding books and materials in the Millsaps-Wilson Library

How to Read a Call Number

Most call numbers have four parts :

• General / Broad Subject

• Narrower subtopic

• Cutter Number (represents author, corporation, or title)

• Year of Publication 

Some call numbers will also list volume or copy number as well. 

Library of Congress Reading Room

About Library of Congress Call Numbers

Most academic libraries including the Millsaps-Wilson Library use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to arrange books and other items on the the library shelves. This system allows each item to be assigned a unique call number. A call number is like an address; it indicates where the item is located on the library shelves. 

The LC system arranges materials into classes based on subject.  Each class contains multiple subclasses

Click on any of the LC classes below for more information.  

Location of Materials in the Millsaps-Wilson Library

Circulating books:

Classifications A – D399

East Stacks 1

Classifications D400 – F

East Stacks 2

Classifications G – HR

East Stacks 3

Classifications HS – K

East 3

Classifications L – Z

West 3

Audiovisuals

Circulation Desk

Microforms

West 3

Newspapers (current)

West 2

Oversized books

West 2

Periodicals (current and bound)

West 2

Reference books

East 2

Special Collections

Archives (Millsaps and Methodist)

East 3

Engel Collection (music, arts)

West 3

Johnson Collection (military history)

West 2

Kellogg Collection (children's literature)

West 2

Ramsey Collection (ethics)

West 2

Rare Books

West 3

Smith Collection (ethics)

West 2

Welty Collection

West 3

More about LC Call Numbers

"The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is a classification system that was first developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections of the Library of Congress. Over the course of the twentieth century, the system was adopted for use by other libraries as well, especially large academic libraries in the United States. It is currently one of the most widely used library classification systems in the world." 

(Library of Congress,  https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcc.html)

 

Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | librarian@millsaps.edu