Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use the Library Catalog: How to Locate Materials in your Library

About Call Numbers

Most academic libraries including the Millsaps-Wilson Library use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to arrange books and other items on the the library shelves. This system allows each item to be assigned a unique call number. A call number is like an address; it indicates where the item is located on the library shelves.  Below are the locations of call number ranges within the Millsaps-Wilson Library. 

Location of Materials in the Millsaps-Wilson Library

Circulating books:

Classifications A – D399

East Stacks 1

Classifications D400 – F

East Stacks 2

Classifications G – HR

East Stacks 3

Classifications HS – K

East 3

Classifications L – Z

West 3

Audiovisuals

Circulation Desk

Microforms

West 3

Newspapers (current)

West 2

Oversized books

West 2

Periodicals (current and bound)

West 2

Reference books

East 2

Special Collections

Archives (Millsaps and Methodist)

East 3

Engel Collection (music, arts)

West 3

Johnson Collection (military history)

West 2

Kellogg Collection (children's literature)

West 2

Ramsey Collection (ethics)

West 2

Rare Books

West 3

Smith Collection (ethics)

West 2

Welty Collection

West 3

How to Read a Call Number

Most call numbers have four parts :

• General / Broad Subject

• Narrower subtopic

• Cutter Number (represents author, corporation, or title)

• Year of Publication 

Some call numbers will also list volume or copy number as well. 

Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | librarian@millsaps.edu