African American Studies: Civil Rights Movement

From the University of Baltimore. Includes photographs, documents, oral histories and a timeline pertaining to the 1968 riots that followed the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Duke University Libraries. A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s (from the website).

In 1969, Swarthmore College’s black protest movement, spearheaded by students in the Swarthmore Afro-American Student Society (SASS) sat in the Admissions Office demanding increased black enrollment. Their actions, supported by the majority of black students including those who were not formally a part of SASS, came in response to dwindling numbers of black students and to the insensitivity and lack of administrative support for black students on campus. The documents in this archive have been collected from College archives, interviews, personal collections, and newspaper records (from the website).

From the University of Georgia. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries (from the website).

Includes timeline, histories, photo albums, online documents, discussion groups. Freedom Movement bibliography, and an extensive list of Civil Rights Movement websites.

From the Library of Congress. Extensive digital collections, a guide to related resources, links to evaluated online resources, and a selected reading list.

From the National Archives. Includes digitized version of the 1954 Supreme Court judgement along with background information and other related primary source documents.

Over 25,000 digitized pages from Freedom Summer manuscripts. Includes photographs, documents, diaries, propaganda and more. PDFs available for downloading.

The collection consists of correspondence, a voter registration plan, photographs, and newsclippings from Thomas Foner's work as a volunteer with the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project in 1964. The collection documents his work with the project and contains substantial information about the conditions faced by volunteers during the summer (from the finding aid).

Located in Jackson, MS and opened in December 2017 the MS Civil Rights Museum is the first state sponsored museum to document the Civil Rights Movement.

The Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission was the state's official counter civil rights agency from 1956–1973. The files in this online collection comprise the scanned originals with court-approved redactions requested by individuals named in the records along with additional information submitted by individuals named in the records who chose to file a rebuttal. The collection also includes the court-specified personal name index and links between rebuttal records and Commission records in which rebuttal submitters are mentioned. The files may be searched by personal name, folder title and number, or rebuttal respondent (from the website).

Includes films, primary documents, oral histories, and an extensive glossary of people, places, and court cases.

From a collaboration of the Library of Congress and WGBH. Audio recordings rom noncommercial radio broadcasts from Civil Rights movement participants.