Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | email@example.com
Philosophy Resources at the Millsaps-Wilson Library
Check out this guide to find out what kinds of resources are available to you.
Questions about philosophy resources? Ask a librarian! Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org, come by the front desk, or call us at 601-974-1073.
Philosophy books are generally located in section B but you will find books about psychology throughout our collection. See below for areas where you can browse by subject.
- B 108-708 Ancient philosophy
- B 720-765 Medieval philosophy
- B 770-785 Renaissance philosophy
- B 790-5802 Modern philosophy
- BC 1-199 Logic
- BJ 1-1725 Ethics
To better understand how books are organized in the Millsaps-Wilson Library, check out the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Philosophy Subject Databases
Philosopher's Index provides citation information and abstracts for journal articles and books published from 1940 to present. The database indexes material on the philosophy of various disciplines and philosophy-related subjects including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics and philosophical anthropology.
Digital Loeb Classical Library
Digital Loeb Classical Library, from Harvard University Press, contains over 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content about Greek and Latin Classical history and literature
Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.
NOTE: Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.
Print Reference Materials (Located near the front desk)
Dictionary of Existentialism by
Call Number: Reference B 819 .D455 1999
Publication Date: 1999-06-30
Directory of American philosophers by
Call Number: Reference B 935 .D5 2006-07
Publication Date: 2006-2007
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
Call Number: Reference BH 56 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-08-20
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics by
Call Number: Reference BJ 63 .E69 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Encyclopedia of Ethics by
Call Number: Reference BJ 63 .E45
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Reference B 51 .E53 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
A Locke Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference B 1297 .Y64 1993
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
Welcome to PhilSci-Archive, an electronic archive specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science. The archive is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. Its goal is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.
American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
Print Chicago Manual of Style and Turabian guides available in the library
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: Reference Z 253 .U69 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
EasyWriter with Exercises by
Call Number: Reserves PE1408 .L852 2019