Psychology: Home

The Millsaps-Wilson Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to organize physical materials.  For more information on call numbers visit the Library of Congress website.

Psychology books are generally located in section BF but you will find books about psychology throughout our collection. See below for areas where you can browse by subject.

• BF 173-175.5 Psychoanalysis
• BF 176-198.7 Psychological tests
• BF 199 Behaviorism
• BF 207-209 Psychotropic drugs
• BF 309-499 Consciousness and cognition
• BF 501-505 Motivation
• BF 636-637 Applied psychology
• BF 660-685 Comparative psychology
• BF 692-692.5 Psychology of sex and sexual behavior
• BF 698-698.9 Personality
• HF 5548.7-5548.85 Industrial psychology
• LB 1050.9-1091 Educational Psychology
• QP 351-495 Neuropsychology​

Location of Materials

• Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.

• Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.

  NOTE: Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

• PsycARTICLES  contains more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 35,000 searchable full text articles from 41 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.

• PsycINFO contains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.

• PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as: * The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. * Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. * Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

• SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

• APA Style Central

• How to Cite Anything in APA Format

• OWL Purdue APA Style Guide

• American Psychological Association (APA)

• American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP)

• American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

• American Association of State Counseling Boards (AASCB)

• American Counseling Association

• APA: Applying to Grad School

• Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

• Buros Center for Testing

• Classics in the History of Psychology

• Google Scholar

• Mississippi Board of Examiners for Licensed Professional Counselors

• Mississippi Counseling Association

• National Institute of Mental Health

• Online Evaluation Resource Library

• PsychCentral

• Social Psychology Network