LibGuides: GOVT 3300 African Government & Politics: Home

Finding Resources

The library website is a great place to start looking for resources for your class.

https://millsaps.edu/academics/millsaps-wilson-library/online-library-search/

Big Search uses keywords to find books, articles, DVDs and more.

Want to know more? Below is a guide for formulating keywords and finding resources using Big Search

Choosing Keywords

The Millsaps-Wilson Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to organize physical materials. For more information on call numbers visit the Library of Congress website.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Books about Africa and African Politics with be found throughout the library. Some good sections to check:

H: Social Sciences (Specifically, HC)

J: Political Science

Books about African History are generally located in section DT. but you will find books throughout our collection.

Location of Materials

Classifications A--D399 East Stacks 1

Classifications D400--F East Stacks 2

Classifications G--HR East Stacks 3

Classifications HS--K East 3

Classifications L--Z West 3

Databases are a good place to start when looking for scholarly journals and articles.

Reference Databases

Encyclopaedia Britannica
Full text, online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.

NOTE: Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete has:
Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
More than 8,750 full-text journals
Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
PDF content dating back as far as 1887
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR
Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Project MUSE
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times (1980-Present)
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Present)
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format.

Primary sources are contemporary accounts of an event, written by someone who experienced or witnessed the event in question. These original documents (i.e., they are not about another document or account) are often diaries, letters, memoirs, journals, speeches, manuscripts, interviews and other such unpublished works. They may also include published pieces such as newspaper or magazine articles (as long as they are written soon after the fact and not as historical accounts), photographs, audio or video recordings, research reports in the natural or social sciences, or original literary or theatrical works.

Primary: First-hand account of an event, an original work

Autobiographies, letters, e-mails, diaries, speeches, interviews
Documents, laws, treaties
Raw data that has been collected
Works of literature, art, music
Newspaper accounts of events, by someone on the scene

Secondary: A summary, interpretation, or analysis of something else

Articles, books, biographies which summarize, interpret the original statements, documents
Textbooks
Analysis of statistics
Criticism — of literature, art, music
Secondary accounts of events by those who compile and synthesize the original accounts

Tertiary: Usually a combination or collection of primary and secondary sources

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Indexes
Handbooks, guidebooks, manuals

Africa Map
Africamap is housed at the Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard University with an initial grant from the Harvard Provosts Fund for Innovative Computing and ongoing support from the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute, the Department of African and African American Studies and the Committee for African Studies at Harvard University. AfricaMap grew out of a project, called Baobab, funded by the Seaver Institute.

WorldMap Help

African Centre for Statistics
From the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
The Africa Report
From the website, The Africa Report is published by Jeune Afrique Media Group (JAMG), the premier publishing and events company in Africa. JAMG produces the weekly magazine Jeune Afrique, and the leading continental business meeting, The Africa CEO Forum
Africa Renewal, United Nations
From the website, The Africa Renewal information programme, produced by the Africa Section of the United Nations Department of Global Communications, provides up-to-date information and analysis of the major economic and development challenges facing Africa today. Among the major items it produces is the renowned magazine, Africa Renewal (formerly Africa Recovery), which first appeared in 1987. It also produces a range of public information materials, including backgrounders, press releases and feature articles. It works with the media in Africa and beyond to promote the work of the United Nations, Africa and the international community to bring peace and development to Africa.
Africa South of the Sahara
From the Stanford Libraries, Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources is an annotated directory of online resources about Africa.
African Studies Internet Resources
From Columbia University, African Studies
African Union
Africa's Regional integration Effort.
Amnesty International Country Profiles
Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State
From the website, The Department of State’s Bureau of African Affairs is focused on the development and management of U.S. policy concerning the African continent.

The Administration’s Africa Strategy, signed by President Trump, focuses on three core objectives: Advancing trade and commercial ties with key African states to increase U.S. and African prosperity; Protecting the United States from cross-border health and security threats; and
Supporting key African states’ progress toward stability, citizen-responsive governance, and self-reliance.
Human Rights Watch Africa
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
From the website, An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Librarian

Millsaps-Wilson Library

Email Me

Contact:

601-974-1070