Skip to main content

Ventures-Les Liaisons Dangereuses (FYCS-1010): Home

Selected Library Resources

A History of French Literature

Call Number PQ103 .C67 2004

A Guide to French Literature

Call Number PQ305 .B524 1997

Literature Through Film

Call Number PN1997.85 .S76 2005

The Devil in the Holy Water, or the Art of Slander from Louis XIV to Napoleon

Call Number PQ265 .D3675 2010

The Epistolary Novel : Representations of Consciousness

e-Book

Esthetics of the Moment

Call Number NX549.A1 K38 1996

Finding Resources

The library website is a great place to start looking for resources for your class.  

http://www.millsaps.edu/library/index.php

Big Search uses keywords to find books, articles, DVDs and more. 

Want to know more?  Below is a guide for formulating keywords and finding resources using Big Search

The Millsaps-Wilson Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to organize physical materials.  For more information on call numbers visit the Library of Congress website.

Books about French history can be found on the second floor of the East stacks in section DC.

  • DC1-947 History of France 

 Books about French language can be found on the third floor of the West wing in section PC. 

  • PC2001-3761 French 
  • PC2700-(3708) Dialects. 
  • Provincialisms PC2813-(2898) 
  • Old French PC3201-3366 
  • Provencal (Old) PC3371-3420.5 
  • Modern patois of South France
  • PC3420.8-3495 Langue d'oc dialects 
  • PC3721-3761 Slang. Argot 

Books about French literature can be found on the third floor of the West wing in section PQ. 

  • PQ1-3999 French literature 
  • PQ1-771 History and criticism 
  • PQ1-150 General 
  • PQ151-221 Medieval. Old French 
  • PQ226-310 Modern 
  • PQ400-491 Poetry 
  • PQ500-591 Drama 
  • PQ601-771 Prose and prose fiction 
  • PQ(781)-841) Folk literature 
  • PQ845 Juvenile literature 
  • PQ1100-1297 Collections 
  • PQ1100-1145 General 
  • PQ1160-1193 Poetry PQ1211-1241 Drama PQ1243-1297 Prose 
  • PQ1300-1595 Old French literature 
  • PQ1300-1391 Collections Individual authors and works 
  • PQ1411-1545 To 1350/1400 
  • PQ1551-1595 (14th-) 15th century (to ca. 1525)
  • PQ1600-2726 Modern literature Individual authors 
  • PQ1600-1709 16th century 
  • PQ1710-1935 17th century 
  • PQ1947-2147 18th century 
  • PQ2149-2551 19th century 
  • PQ2600-2651 1900-1960 
  • PQ2660-2686 1961-2000 
  • PQ2700-2726 2001- 
  • PQ3800-3999 Provincial, local, colonial, etc.  

 

Location of Materials
Classifications A--D399                                                      East Stacks 1                                                                                            
Classifications D400--F                                                      East Stacks 2
Classifications G--HR                                                          East Stacks 3
Classifications HS--K                                                           East 3
Classifications L--Z                                                               West 3

         

 

 

Databases are a good place to start when looking for scholarly journals and articles.

Multidisciplinary Databases 

Literature Specific Databases 

Primary sources are contemporary accounts of an event, written by someone who experienced or witnessed the event in question. These original documents (i.e., they are not about another document or account) are often diaries, letters, memoirs, journals, speeches, manuscripts, interviews and other such unpublished works. They may also include published pieces such as newspaper or magazine articles (as long as they are written soon after the fact and not as historical accounts), photographs, audio or video recordings, research reports in the natural or social sciences, or original literary or theatrical works.

Primary:  First-hand account of an event, an original work

  • Autobiographies, letters, e-mails, diaries, speeches, interviews
  • Documents, laws, treaties
  • Raw data that has been collected
  • Works of literature, art, music
  • Newspaper accounts of events, by someone on the scene

Secondary: A summary, interpretation, or analysis of something else

  • Articles, books, biographies which summarize, interpret the original statements, documents
  • Textbooks
  • Analysis of statistics
  • Criticism — of literature, art, music
  • Secondary accounts of events by those who compile and synthesize the original accounts

Tertiary: Usually a combination or collection of primary and secondary sources

  • Encyclopedias
  • Dictionaries
  • Indexes
  • Handbooks, guidebooks, manuals

 

Loading ...

Associate College Librarian

Mariah Grant's picture
Mariah Grant
Contact:
Millsaps-Wilson Library
601-974-1071
Website

Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | librarian@millsaps.edu