Skip to main content

Connections--The Bald Soprano and Rhinoceros: Two Plays by Ionesco (FYCS-1020): Home

Selected Library Resources

The Theatre of the Absurd 

Call Number: PN1861 .E8 1969

 

Reassessing the Theatre of the Absurd

Call Number: PN1861 .B44 2013 

(currently on Reserves)

Avant-garde: The Experimental Theater in France 

Call Number: PQ558 .P7 1962

The Cambridge Companion to Camus

Call Number: PQ2605.A3734 Z6258 2007

Ionesco's Rhinoceros

Call Number: DVD 156

Subversive Stages : Theater in Pre- and Post-communist Hungary, Romania, and Bulgaria

eBook

Albee: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Call Number: PS3551.L25 W434 2000

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? 

Call Number: DVD 428

Finding Resources

The library website is a great place to start looking for resources for your class.  

http://www.millsaps.edu/library/index.php

Big Search uses keywords to find books, articles, DVDs and more. 

Want to know more?  Below is a guide for formulating keywords and finding resources using Big Search

The Millsaps-Wilson Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to organize physical materials.  For more information on call numbers visit the Library of Congress website.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Books about drama can be found on the third floor of the West wing in section PN.

Literature (General). Drama: PN1600-3307 

  • Drama. History: PN 1720-1861
  • Dramatic representation. The Theater: PN2000-3307 

By time period: PN2131-2193

  • Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120

 

Books about French literature can be found on the third floor of the West wing in section PQ.

Romance Literatures: PQ 

  • French Literature 
  • Drama History and Criticism: PQ500-591
  • Drama Collections: PQ1211-1241
  • Authors: PQ1411-2726

Books about related topics can be found throughout the Library. 

General and World History: D

American History: E and F

Manners and Customs: GT 

  • Houses. Dwellings: GT 170-474
  • Costume. Dress. Fashion: GT500-2370

Social History: HN

Music: M 

  • History and Criticism: ML 159-360 (arranged by special time periods and then by country)
  • Musical Theater: MT955-956

Fine Arts: N 

  • History of Art: N5300-7418 (arranged by time periods and movements, followed by countries arranged by time period then movements)
  • Special Subjects of Art: N7570-8266 
  • Portraits: N7575-7624
  • Humans in art: N7625.5-7649.A-.Z
  • Other special subjects: N8217-8266

Architecture: NA

Decorative Arts: NK 

  • Interior Decoration. House Decoration: NK1700-3505

Location of Materials
Classifications A--D399                                                      East Stacks 1                                                                                            
Classifications D400--F                                                      East Stacks 2
Classifications G--HR                                                          East Stacks 3
Classifications HS--K                                                           East 3
Classifications L--Z                                                               West 3

         

 

 

Databases are a good place to start when looking for reference resources, scholarly journals and articles.

Reference Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases 

Literature Specific Databases 

Primary sources are contemporary accounts of an event, written by someone who experienced or witnessed the event in question. These original documents (i.e., they are not about another document or account) are often diaries, letters, memoirs, journals, speeches, manuscripts, interviews and other such unpublished works. They may also include published pieces such as newspaper or magazine articles (as long as they are written soon after the fact and not as historical accounts), photographs, audio or video recordings, research reports in the natural or social sciences, or original literary or theatrical works.

Primary:  First-hand account of an event, an original work

  • Autobiographies, letters, e-mails, diaries, speeches, interviews
  • Documents, laws, treaties
  • Raw data that has been collected
  • Works of literature, art, music
  • Newspaper accounts of events, by someone on the scene

Secondary: A summary, interpretation, or analysis of something else

  • Articles, books, biographies which summarize, interpret the original statements, documents
  • Textbooks
  • Analysis of statistics
  • Criticism — of literature, art, music
  • Secondary accounts of events by those who compile and synthesize the original accounts

Tertiary: Usually a combination or collection of primary and secondary sources

  • Encyclopedias
  • Dictionaries
  • Indexes
  • Handbooks, guidebooks, manuals
Loading ...

Eugène Ionesco

By Bain News Service, publisher - Library of Congress https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2014715486/ Public Domain

Associate College Librarian

Mariah Grant's picture
Mariah Grant
Contact:
Millsaps-Wilson Library
601-974-1071
Website

Millsaps-Wilson Library | Millsaps College | 601-974-1073 | librarian@millsaps.edu